Sneak peak Francis I (12 September 1494 – 31 March 1547)

This is Francis I, king of France. Before I read that he was the king that founded Le Havre I hadn’t really heard much about him and that is odd, because he actually was quite interesting and famous. At the moment I’m learning more about Francis I life, but I thought y’all could at least get a sneak peak of him until I’ve read a bit more about him myself.

Francis I in relief

Francis I in relief

Portrait Francis I of france artist uknown 16th century.

Portrait Francis I of france artist uknown 16th century.

Statue Francis I at Chambord Estate

Statue Francis I at Chambord Estate

Francis I at at Chambord Estate, different view.

Francis I at at Chambord Estate, different view.

Here we have a relief and a portrait of Francis I. His beard is one thing he has in almost all his portraits. A beard was a sign of learned/wise men because it showed that the person was older and so hopefully more mature.

The statue at Chambord Estate and the drawing by Francesco Primaticcio  show that Francis I was very fit. His rival Charles V was in contrast quite overweight. However at that time having a bit extra weight was considered a positive thing both for men in women as it showed that you apparently could afford to eat much which really was a luxury at the time.

“Francis I of France” by Francesco Primaticcio. 16th century.

“Francis I of France” by Francesco Primaticcio. 16th century.

Francis I by Pierre Dumonstiers

Francis I by Pierre Dumonstiers

“Francis I of France” Jean Clouet 16th century.

“Francis I of France” Jean Clouet 16th century.

Francis I by Fontana.

Francis I by Fontana.

We can clearly see by the last three drawings that many artists relied on other artists drawings. The drawings are by three different artists but they clearly relied on Jean Clouets original drawing to get it right (the one in the middle).

Last but not least to point out is Francis I nickname Francis of the long nose. Why that is you can see here:

Francis I by G Cooke.

Francis I by G Cooke.

Francis I, King of France by Francis Holl

Francis I, King of France by Francis Holl

Francis I by Jean Clouet.

Francis I by Jean Clouet.

Francis I  portrait, print after miniature by Jean Clouet, 1517,

Francis I portrait, print after miniature by Jean Clouet, 1517,

Francis I 4

Girolamo della Robbia: Bust of Francis I

I hope you all enjoyed the post and I look forward to write more about Francis I later.

Buste Francis 1

Buste Francis 1

Francis I 17

Buste Francis I  château royal de Blois

Buste Francis I château royal de Blois

Francis I after a painting in Louvre.

Francis I after a painting in Louvre.

buste King Francis I made by Jean-Baptiste Halou 1850, at Royal Castle de Blois.

buste King Francis I made by Jean-Baptiste Halou 1850,
at Royal Castle de Blois.

Leave a Reply

