Maximilan I of Austria and Mary of Burgundy – happy family

After the marriage Maximilian I of Austria and Mary of Burgundy wanted children right away, because that was expected of them. Producing a (male) heir was the most important thing for nobility, because that meant that the heritage would remain intact.

Maximilian I and Mary of Burgundy were very lucky because they got a son the year after they got married and it was a baby boy. Philip I (22 July 1478 – 25 September 1506) was known as Philip the handsome or Philip the fair :).

Philip the handsome as a boy.

Philip the handsome as a boy.

1,5 year later in 1480 he got a baby sister called Margaret.

Margaret of Austria.

Margaret of Austria.

In 1481 Mary got another child that they named Francis but he died 2 months later.

In this family picture we see Maximilian I of Austrian, Mary of Burgundy Philip the Handsome, Margaret of Austria and their grandchildren Ferdinand I and Charles V. This picture doesn’t reflect reality though. Mary of Burgundy died in 1482 when she was only 25 years old so she got to know that she would get grandchildren :(.

I will write more later about why Mary of Burgundy died so young and what happened to Philip the handsome and Margaret.

Ciao, amici miei! Hilde

Leave a comment